Home > Pop Culture > Batman R.I.P.

Batman R.I.P.

So I went by the comic book shop this Wednesday, and saw a line outside the door. I haven’t been to a comic shop in a while, as I am a painfully broke young man, but there was a comic that hell or highwater, I was going to purchase. At least, that was what I thought until I saw that line. Suddenly a clerk came up and asked me if I was there to get what everyone else was getting: Amazing Spider-Man #583 (now in its third printing), which guest-stars President-Elect Barack Obama. Shaking my head, I walked into the store and purchased the real milestone issue that had amazingly been overlooked in all the Barack-mania. Final Crisis #6. The issue where Bruce Wayne dies.

Now, a lot of you might not have heard about the “Batman R.I.P.” storyline that has been developing over the last few years, or just believed that with the incredible success of “The Dark Knight”, that DC wouldn’t dream of tampering with arguably the #1 comic book franchise right now. I could try to explain the entire plot of “R.I.P.”, but I don’t feel like the headache (yeah, it’s actually that convoluted), or the crazy way that Batman finally bites it, but The Daily P.O.P. took a shot, so here’s a link to that. Oh, and a picture of the aforementioned death. Yeah.

Before anybody gets started, as a comic-book geek, I am fully aware that not only is death never final in comic books, that a backdoor is fully available for the eventual return of Bruce Wayne, due to his…unique death by Omega Sanction (Wiki it). But that’s not the point. The point is that this whole thing was botched from the jump. Scheduling errors, the fact that R.I.P. ended in the Batman comics but his death was in Final Crisis, the method of writing that constantly made people feel that they missed an issue somewhere – its just been a complete mess, especially when you contrast it against Marvel’s almost universally-acclaimed handling of the assassination of Captain America. So what do you guys think. Did you like it, hate it, felt indifference towards it or what?

Categories: Pop Culture Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

